Got a Jealous bone….

Actually, a lot of them.  All of me is a sad shade of green (think Grinch).  I have lived in northern CT all my life.  In MA, not far from here, is a big flea market, Brimfield flea market, that goes on for days and for miles (or so I hear, read, see in magazines) that I have wanted to go to all my adult life.  It’s always crowded, according to reviewers, yes, it’s such a big deal it gets reviewed. It happens in May and in September, prime allergy times.  It’s happening as I type and I want to be there.  And to make me greener, a new friend who knows nothing of my love of all things, antique, old, junk (her phrase) casually told me yesterday she and a friend both happened to have today off and they are there!  Carl & I have talked about going for all of our 35+ years of marriage but work, kids when they came along, allergies and asthma when those flared (some years worse than others–go figure) kept us home.  Now our baby is 25 years old so you’d think we could go.  No

Carl & I are prematurely retired for health reasons, so now it will really be rough to get to Brimfield, but I still plan to go one year.  I have a power wheelchair with oxygen strapped to it so I can breathe well enough for a while outdoors and I can walk a little distance.  I have to pretty much stay in air conditioning, but hotels are plentiful and my health waxes and wanes, so I haven’t given up.  Carl has so much neuro-muscular and skeletal pain he would need a scooter, he doesn’t yet qualify for medicare to pay in full for a wheelchair like I did, so we’ll see.  Prayers for healing would be greatly appreciated.

I remember the last thing my father said to me that made sense was,[he had brain cancer] especially when times  like this come up.  Never put off doing what you really want to do till you retire, till the kids are grown, till money isn’t as tight, whatever.  You want to do something, do it!  He had always planned to take my mother on a carriage ride in Central Park, not far away, but he never did.  Always wanted to take us to San Diego where he was stationed in the army and fell in love with the area.  I’ve never been west of Manhattan.  So, my advise to all is to not put off your dreams.  From the blogs I’ve read, I don’t think most of you need that advice, but I’ll bet you know someone who does.

But on a happier note, you have inspired me to push through symptoms a bit harder, work on our home–painting the living room & kitchen and doing projects that need love–and spray paint.  I’ll be trying out your recommendations.  Our den, now to become my sewing, craft, etc. room I’d like to paint, but it takes a huge amount of strength out of me, and it was done within 5 years, just never liked how bright it came out.  Gonna try to get pictures put

from living room toward window, what could I do but improve? LOL

here                                                                                     

 

 

open to the living room, view toward hall

 

 

And an old armoire I got from Freecycle from someone who’d painted it ivory and stenciled moose and trees.  I’m trying to have more fun things in proportion to medical appointments in my weeks.  Wish me well!

 

 

I did it!  I got the pictures in!  Not talking about how long it took…..or how oddly they’re placed….

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Got a Jealous bone….

Leave a Reply

