Jaunt to JoAnn Fabrics, wheelchair and all

It’s a rare thing for me to go to JoAnn’s because my health limitations now require someone who drives be with me in case I’m not steady enough to drive safely home.   It takes about 1/2 hour to get to the store from home, however long I’m there (and if I’m alone, it could be hours! ) and the drive home. Hubby was my back-up driver and was in worse shape than I was by the time we left for home, LOL. We’re both disabled, but he’s too proud and stubborn to use a scooter or anything.  I’m not.  But, I got my cpap machine today so I should sleep better and that will help my endurance for sure. All the docs promise it’ll help my breathing and pain levels, too. I forget not everyone knows this; cpap treats sleep apnea, a condition which causes the sleeper to wake a few or, in my case, many times a night, hence a very poor quality sleep that leaves the sleeper exhausted.

We have a store in town here, that sells over-runs, discontinued items, etc.–a thrift shopper’s dream– and they currently have upholstery fabric in lengths of 3 yards for $6!! I got velvet, a durable material for sure, in a color that coordinates, to cover the cushions of the gently used (I love to recycle perfectly good things) sofa we got recently.  I want to protect it from 3 gregarious standard poodles that are spoiled and used to being on the furniture.  So obviously I didn’t want to pay full price for trim to go around the cushions.  Yesterday was Columbus Day so there was a big sale at JoAnn’s which included 50% off on upholstery trim. What I found was perfect.  Plus they have a sign near the entrance for an extra coupon. Of course I forgot zippers, but I can cut my pieces.  When I get zippers I’ll be able to go on as my strength allows. I may have pictures of finished product to post sometime soon.

Finding the space to lay the fabric will be the tricky thing now.  My “craft room to be” is still quite like it was in the pictures in my post “Got a Jealous Bone”.  The endurance thing we both have makes it a slow process, but I’m determined. Things may just get moved to another temporary place for now, but I’m cutting that fabric!

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jaunt to JoAnn Fabrics, wheelchair and all

  1. Cut that fabric girl! YOU GO! Your blog post inspired me, thank you for sharing! Can’t wait to see the finished product! Don’t you just love JOAnn’s!
    xoxox
    Angela
    Button Bird Designs

Leave a Reply

