Inspired By Other Bloggers

As I read through the blogs I subscribe to and followed links from parties to discover new-to-me blogs, my spirit was stirred so I promised one blogger I’d tell this story.  It’s a logical enough follow-up to my “Faith” post, but there will be posts of crafting, etc. coming up.  🙂 The timing just seemed right for this.  More will be interspersed now and then.

I’ve been seriously asthmatic all my life.  So I know chronic/acute illness.  I met the man who would be my husband when I was 20; it was love at first sight and it scared me–another post.  We dated 6 weeks before engagement, 6 months more and we wed.  During this time I was in Intensive Care (pneumonia), spent Thanksgiving in the hospital where he ate with me.  The day before our wedding, I was told I would have cervical cancer within 6 months, wouldn’t have kids.  Hysterical, it was good he was with me, I literally couldn’t have found the car through my tears.

We went on, asthma better then worse, as is still my course.  I needed oxygen at home at age 23.  I got better with the help of new doctors.  A new gynecologist told me that doctor was publishing a research study.  It was a false alarm, though I did have trouble getting pregnant.  I have epilepsy (controlled for years) and other issues the doctor assured me weren’t risks.  I started what would be a year on Clomid, a fertility drug.  On my last embarassing post-coital exam, the doctor said I’d had an allergic reaction, no way could I get pregnant. In a few weeks, I got bronchitis and was in the ER, again, (all the respiratory therapy staff knew me) but before I’d take an x-ray I required a blood test to be sure I wasn’t pregnant.  Good thing.  I was!!  Thank God.

The treatment included steroids by IV (always took prednisone pills), other asthma meds, anti-biotics.  I was home a few weeks and hemorrhaged.  Back to the ER where I cried all night, blood tests hourly.  Tests that showed I didn’t miscarry!  Thank God!  Home to bed rest, oxygen again.  Including this one, I had 5 hospitalizations during this 7 month pregnancy, including the one in which at 7 mos. my blood pressure was stroke level, baby was smaller than a month ago.  I had an emergency C-section.  Good thing, my acrobat had the cord around her scrawny neck 3 times.  She weighed 2 lbs.10oz, 16 in. long.  I saw a Polaroid but couldn’t hold her for 48 hrs., my blood pressure kept me flat on my back.  Hubs saw her though.  At 5 hours old she pulled out the respirator, they didn’t put it back, just gave her the theophylline I got for my asthma.  The high doses of steroids I’d had always matured her lungs, she was ok.  At 2 wks. old, she flipped herself over after every feeding.  The nurse was astonished.  She was still not to be born for another 6 weeks.  She came home in 4 weeks.  Praise God!

Neither of us had a relationship with Jesus back then.  We didn’t see all the ways He worked to accomplish these miracles.  I certainly see them now.  And these are but a few of the many He’s done in our lives.  The post would be a book if I put them all together :-).  Never take things for granted.  Miracles DO happen.  Thank God.

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspired By Other Bloggers

  1. Kelli says:

    I’m so happy for you that you were able to get your little miracle after everyone said you wouldn’t! Thanks for sharing this blog with me.

    I have a question. Do you think it was the Clomid that helped you get pregnant? Were there side effects (besides being allergic)? I’m scheduling an appointment with the fertility doctor tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

