Have you ever________???

I have so many things to do, just crafting and decorating, not counting the rest of life, in my head.  And suddenly it’s dark, nothing’s done.  The lighting in my house is definitely not good enough for doing slipcovers, or even doing over my Dollar Tree pumpkins that everyone else had done a month ago.  But that may be a good thing–they’ll be dedicated to the storm that really took me off the track.  I hope I’ll have those at least under way tomorrow, maybe even done enough to show you.  I get so lost in time these days.  Do you ever?

In my last little post I said I was back 6 days after the storm knocked out our power.  I talked to people in my town earlier today who, on day 9 post-storm were still without power.  The COO of CL&P is on the hot seat now for sure; this has not exactly been a well-coordinated effort.  I’m sure everyone is grateful there weren’t more nights in the 20s, but it’s sure chilly in those homes still without power.  Go outside to warm up, highs are in the 60s this week.  We were blessed with no structure damage, but our yard–the trees look like a tornado came through and broke them to pieces, throwing them on the fence, but sparing buildings and the deck.  Hubs took 20+ pics and I thought about putting them here, but do you want to see the mess?  Or was the news coverage enough?  Can you ever not decide?

We had to throw out a lot of food from spoilage after 6 days.  There’s only so much you can pack in snow.  So restocking is necessary.  Most I’m doing through Stop&Shop’s peapod service (not a sponsor), a blessing I’ve used before.  Have you ever tried grocery shopping in a power wheelchair?  Impossible without someone to push the carriage and my guys are worn out from dealing with the branches, etc.  I haven’t even been able to get my act together to cut coupons to go to Walgreen’s and Target.  (Also not sponsors)  I usually do that with my “green” re-use bags hanging off my w/c (I must really be a funny sight) and because I do it alone I enjoy it.  More things I hope to do tomorrow.

I was all happy the other day to go to Michaels (no sponsors, you get the idea) for crafting supplies for decorations and jewelry I have planned.  I printed off my coupon for 25% off my entire purchase, did my shopping as I described above, got to the register and the cashier told me, after ringing up all my items, the coupon is for Nov. 11.  sigh  Have you ever?  Now to decide-quickly-bring it all back and go back on the 11th and re-purchase, or do the easy thing, keep the full-price items–so against my ways–and hopefully learn to be more careful with coupon dates?  Have you ever???

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Have you ever________???

  1. Janlynn says:

    You certainly have had a trying time. Glad that you are finally warm and have light.

Leave a Reply

