Do You “FreeCycle”?

For the uninitiated, FreeCycle.com is a website, on which members post things they want, offer or have given or received.  It’s nationwide, so if you type in FreeCycle.com you’ll come to a central website that asks for zip code, city, etc.  You will probably get a list of groups to choose from.  It is a Yahoo groups thing and you can choose to receive individual emails, daily digests or have access to the group(s) website(s) you choose to join.  I probably drove, round trip 10 miles today to get boxes of 4X4 ceramic tile!  They are assorted colors and I think they just decided my kitchen backsplash.  I was going to do multi-colored 1X1 mesh-backed tiles, so much easier, but I really like free!!!  And I can play around until I (or we if hubs decides to play) find a pattern we agree on and we can take our time as our achey bodies allow to finish getting them up.  I haven’t inspected all of them, but what I did look at were in perfect condition and there have to be at least 150 tiles.  I’ll have left-overs for craft projects!  We’ve given and received a lot of nice things this way.  It’s easier than tag sales or thrift shopping, you post or reply and get a yes or no from the one offering,(or give it if you’re offering) get directions and go.  You can put the things outside when you know someone’s coming so you don’t have to open the door if you choose that way.

The backsplash is pretty far down on our to-do list though.  We have LOTS of painting to do first.  Been in this house since 1977 and it is in serious need of another update.  It’s just so painful to paint, especially our cathedral-ceilinged rooms, when in a lot of pain.  Our daughter owes us for paying for the car repair just done Friday, she’s unemployed, so she’s going to be a painter for a while.  Wonder how long it will be before her Fibromyalgia (inherited conditions really impair a family’s abilities) will let up and let her paint.  Guess I shouldn’t kick too much right now, she’s my cook for Thanksgiving!

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

