Procrastination or Wise Practice?

I have sooo many projects to do and I’m sooo stuck in neutral.  It’s been quite a while since I’ve been physically able to craft, I forgot I have this tendency. Except for sedentary things like knitting; that I’m doing.  I saw a cowl pattern I liked, changed it up a little to make it 2 colors not one and that’s under way. It’s my waiting room project.  I get all excited over an idea, get all the materials I’ll need to do it–and get stuck.  Once I get myself over the hurdle of getting started, I’ve been fine, it’s the getting started. Now it’s been so long since I’ve done a big sewing job like covering my couch cushions, I measured again for the zipper placement and found I bought zippers the exact width of the cushions.  The originals have zippers that wrap around the sides about 2″ per side. I’m sewing with upholstery weight velvet, so it’s heavy fabric.  Should I go ahead or should I return the zippers for bigger ones?  I’m inclined to do the second but is that just putting it off?

Do I put a shorter zipper on that just goes corner to corner?

See why I need to protect the upholstery? This is just 2 of 3 dogs.

My living room still isn’t close to getting painted because every time (3 now) we’re sure what color we want, we see something that changes our minds.  Thank you Pinterest!  I’d much rather change my mind by looking at a picture than by looking at the color on the walls and hating it.  And hubs has agreed wholeheartedly with each change of heart.  I haven’t painted in 10-15 years and it’s going to be hard.  Hubs is in the same boat so we really want to get it right the first time.  So much for having it done by Thanksgiving. I’ll be doing well to get the clutter under control again!  Dust allergy + clutter do not get along. My daughter has committed to come here and to cook (yay!), my mother-in-law has committed to come, as has my sister.  They’ll just have to ignore my multi-colored living/dining room wall.  This is predicted by my mother-in-law’s oncologist to be her last Thanksgiving (she’s 95 and otherwise healthy) and hubs is an only child so it’s good she’ll have the meal here with her only child, hence only grandchildren.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Procrastination or Wise Practice?

  1. Janlynn says:

    I suffer from the same getting started problem. Sometimes I overthink things and then scare myself out of starting the project. I find I have to force myself to dive in and then everything is fine. The project is usually easier than I thought. Your cushion covers are a big project. You probably need the open corner to make the insertion of the cushion easier.
    It’s really good that you are having family over for Thanksgiving. Enjoy the company!

    • Thanks for the input. That’s what I thought, too, at least this time it isn’t just procrastination. Of course the week without power set me back. Everyone I talk to has had a hard time getting back into things after the devastation of that storm. Lots of outdoor clean-up to do but thanks be to God, I have not personally seen any damaged houses, garages, cars, etc. Just tree branches and earlier on, wired. God is good. What are you doing for Thanksgiving?
      Janet

  2. Janlynn says:

    Sorry I am so late in responding. In Canada we celebrate Thanksgiving in early October. We had lots of family over – from out of town and out of country.
    My Father in law past away at the end of October. It was very quick and everyone was in shock for a bit. I am still trying to file all the papers and make the insurance claims for my Mother in law. She is kind of lost. Now I am stressing about getting ready for Christmas!

    • I’m so sorry you’ve had such a stressful time. It is good, though, that your father-in-law didn’t pass until after Thanksgiving there, next one will be tough. Don’t look forward to papers filing when my mother-in-law passes. It won’t be a big surprise with the cancer she’s had for 3 years, and she’s pretty well prepared her documents, even arranged her own funeral. I don’t know how my hubs would handle all that. Sure hope Christmas comes and is a wonderful time for you & yours. “Don’t sweat the small stuff, and everything is small stuff” don’t remember where I read that, but in the scheme of things, it seems appropriate. My sincere condolences.
      Janet

Leave a Reply

