Decorations have finally begun

As I typed those words, I realized for us, this is early.  Just I’ve been reading blogs written by women whose Christmas trees were up for Thanksgiving and others since Thanksgiving, but most everyone has them up.  This is the first year in several that we even put up a big tree.  By big I mean 6′ or so.  One year I got little 12″ trees and put them up on our entertainment unit, but we haven’t been doing much. Every year a cloud of depression tries to overtake this house, and succeeds to some degree.  You ladies have done more for me than I can say, I’ve been able to be more proactive this year because of you.  Thank you.

Last year Wynonna was a 6 month old ball of fire standard poodle and we knew the tree wouldn’t stand a chance.  I haven’t been physically able to do this kind of work (and let’s be honest, lugging a heavy tree, etc. is work) for years so it’s fallen on my guys.  And hubs isn’t healthy either.  As much as our son loves Christmas, especially the Christ in Christmas, some years he’s just not cared enough to expend the effort for the tree. Now he’s at a Bible study, in fact. He’s still wanted gifts, though, the wise men and all.

We don’t have a fireplace so we don’t have a mantle to decorate.  The mahogany desk my hubs lovingly restored many years ago (gotta get a picture of that in here soon, he really did nice work) is my surface to decorate, so far with just the nativity set.  The stable didn’t make it through all the pack, unpack of earlier years and has to be replaced.  Ideas?  The grapevine star on the wall above the desk I’ve had for years and this is the first time I thought of a way to use it. You can’t tell but it’s painted gold.  Bad lighting + bad photographer=poor pics.  The Rejoice! banner is from a gift from dear daughter a few Christmases ago with the thought I could leave it up all year.  She knows me well.  And the bottom of something you see?  It’s the poem “footprints”

 

The tree is pre-lit, one section plugging into the one below it.  Well, it’s not new either and when the guys put it up, only the bottom two tiers of branches lit. 😦 .  Sonny has been having a strong desire to  “fix” everything lately, no clue how and no ability to listen to and understand directions.  Autism presents such challenges; we just don’t realize how much of our lives’ interactions involve communication, the weakest of weak links for one with autism.  So everyone ends up frustrated and later apologizing to each other.  And we do apologize, keeps us humble I guess.  Anyway, he had a social skills class this afternoon that his mentor took him to (thank you state of CT for providing services for the adult autistic population), giving hubs the short time it took him to find the plugs and the tree was fully lit when son got home.  That’s where we stand now, with a crooked tree, LOL  Hope I still like decorations I bought way after Christmas way, way marked down last year.  Been reading tutorials online to make additionals and we still have the oldies, I think…..

Don’t mind the ugly, finish-worn-off wood floors.  My asthma is so bad whenever we’ve had someone here for a refinishing estimate they wouldn’t do it unless I’d sign saying I’d be out of the house for a ridiculous number of days so all the fumes would clear and there would be no risk to them of being said to cause hospitalization.  I can’t pay to have the floors done and to go away.  Cha-ching!!  And carpet is out of the question so I have to live with it.  Anyone know of a better material or process than the traditional for finishing oak floors that is less toxic to the air?  They’ve taken the offending chemicals out of paint, maybe poly, too????  I’d rather have to paint and repaint every couple years, which poses its own issues with the open floor plan, and have a finish but hubs won’t agree.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decorations have finally begun

  1. Janlynn says:

    Congratulations on getting your tree up. Don’t sell your self short. We still don’t have ours up. One year I didn’t buy one until Christmas Eve. Someone always seems to be sick or injured at the holidays. And our floors are worn and need replacing. My husband likes to start project he can’t finish so we have no baseboards in any of our rooms. But we can paint and decorate and ignore the floor.
    I focus on the positive. Your tree looks beautiful. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

