Dear 16 Year Old Me

 

I have an online friend I’ve never met yet, though hope to someday.  She posted this and asked readers to share.  She’s a very brave woman.  And it’s a time of year when many of us flee the snow to the warm sun of southern beaches.  Or enjoy the snow without sunscreen. So I’m sharing and because of her post, I’m calling another dermatologist this week because I’ve had all the symptoms she described that doctors said were nothing and my doctors said the same.  But they’re bigger now.  And now I know of a family history.  I’ve never put a YouTube in a blog before, if it doesn’t open you probably have a better idea of how to access it than I do.  PLEASE WATCH THE VIDEO and read this post, every word.  Thanks.

Janet

P.S. She did have her leg up in the air in a picture and there were other pictures that didn’t make it over here.  I’m still learning.  To see her whole post, click on the link at the bottom, I hope that will work.  If not, again, you’ll probably know better than I do how to get it.

J

 

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2011

Dear 16 Year Old Me

This is not a Christmas post…….

But it is necessary as winter is upon us.

I don’t talk about this often.

And I am rather insecure about my scar.

This is my leg……….

In the air…..while I’m laying down. Great pose Rebecca?

That big scar. That big chunk of my lower calf that a plastic surgeon had to cut out.

It started out as a freckle………..

I am a freckly person.

It changed colors, itched a little….then started looking normal again.

I decided to get it checked.

The Dr. wasn’t really concerned about it.

He was more worried about the freckles he had removed from my back.

The freckles on my back were not the problem.

This freckle.

It was melanoma.

I tanned in tanning beds occasionally.

But I loved the sun.

I tanned pretty carefully as I grew older…but the younger me loved a good dark tan.

It made me feel pretty.

This……..

Is not pretty.

Dear 16-year-old Me – YouTube

I never worried about melanoma.

But it did happen.

I have a very high risk of finding more.

I am believing I won’t……but the risk I took when I was younger……..

They doubled my chances…even tripled them…..to having melanoma now.

Please share this video.

“Thrifty Decor Chick” shared it on her Facebook and I want you to watch it…..share it….but I want you to know more than that.

It is real.

It happened to me.

The season where your tan is fading.

You are feeling pale.

Be smart.

And know………it could happen to you.

Please share this.

via You’re talking too much……: Dear 16 Year Old Me

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

