Christmas at our hoosier

I do not have to host at all this weekend!  My mother-in-law is having us come over on Christmas Eve and my sister is having us to dinner on Christmas Day.  I don’t think that’s happened before, except when I was really sick with bad asthma issues and we hosted by taking them to Ruby Tuesday, LOL.  I actually got more decorating done this year than in I don’t know how long.  Well, it’s for us.  Pardon the poor quality of the photos; very amateur photographer–me.

close up of Kraft Pimento Cheese box holding Christmas cards

Behind the box of cards you can see some of the Christmas dishes, mostly from my mother-in-law.

Wider shot of dishes and my hubs' favorite "Merry Christmas" sign on our Hoosier

I’ve mentioned this item of furniture , maybe only in comments to others’ posts on Hoosier cabinets.  Did you know the 5th wedding anniversary is the wood anniversary?  You’re welcome.  Back in the dark ages when our 5th was coming up, we were antiquing, window shopping I should say.  This one place had gotten a ton of Hoosier cabinets in varying conditions, so many they sold some as-is.  This was one of those.  I should have closed the roll top for one picture; the slats are glued onto burlap strips to make it open and close.  They had about 16 coats of paint, I’m sure full of lead, that had to be dry-scraped off .  I used a dull penknife and it took forever.  Hubs did chemical stripping; even 30 years ago I couldn’t do that.  It went through SO many colors before we got to wood.  Hubs replaced the door inserts, one must have been especially beautiful in its day, it was leaded glass and had a clock insert.

The big drawer on the right was a bread drawer-tin except the front, knobs crystal

We replaced the original hardware with reproductions we mail-ordered, including a brass “HOOSIER” plate.  The counter is metal with white porcelain.  We were playing with paint colors; this red too bright, decided on another then found the green striped couch.  Oh, well

2 small scales, 1 larger black antique scale, a marble rolling pin and antique bread and cake box top it off.

No, I’m not much of a baker, but let me tell you, that thing is heavy.  This is next to a door, I’ve got instant self-defense, LOL!  The bumper sticker that leans on the tin box says “Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your kids”  🙂

A part of the tree with ornaments, my fat old self with my Jesus shirt and a pin I won from BunnieBows.

I seem to have misplaced my head….oh, dear.  I wish the pin was more visible, it’s really why I’m in the picture.  Thanks, Nellie.

The pin shows up much better on Apollo; he's not camera shy.

It’s 10:30PM Dec. 21 in CT and I think we just had the biggest lightning and thunder I’ve experienced here all my life. And we still have electricity!  We also have 3 terrified dogs.  This weather year has been crazy! Good night all,

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas at our hoosier

  1. Nellie says:

    Janet, thanks! The bow looks fabulous! On you and on Apollo! I love it! He’s such a wonderful little model! I love your Christmas decorations, very festive! I sure hope you and your’s have a very Merry Christmas this year!

  2. Janlynn says:

    Lucky you for being a guest this holiday. Sit back and enjoy the holiday.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

