Resolution: Get rid of what we don’t need

Is this one of your resolutions?  If not, you’re either waaayyy ahead of the rest of us or a hoarder.  LOL  You know the “rule” if you haven’t used/worn it in a year, you never will?  Well how does that apply when you are seriously trying to lose weight?  Keep one size down?  I did that for a long time but I am so discouraged and embarrassed by how much I can lose without dropping a size, hubs said, get rid of  it.  You deserve new things for the work you’re doing losing.  See why we’ve been married 35+ years.  Gotta love a guy like that.  So of course I was an obedient wife and they’re gone.  Actually bagged to go so I could take a pic, but who’d want to look into a black garbage bag full of clothes?  And then there’s just…stuff…that has to go, too.

We gets cards in the mail frequently from BigBrothersBigSisters and from a veterans organization offering to come by “We’ll be in your area…”.  All we need to do is bag up clothing, shoes, etc. or box household goods in good condition, put their card on them and let them know to come to our house, all gone.  If you’re like most people and can do tag sales, this is good for keeping what doesn’t sell from coming back into the house.  But unless you live far, far from me in CT, not a good time of year for that.  This is even easier than taking things to a Salvation Army or Goodwill drop box.  And they’re re-sold for thrifters  raising money for good causes.  And it doesn’t matter if it’s one bag of stuff, they’ll come get it on the day they’re in the area.

Freecycled

Freecycled: set of 6 plus table

I’ve mentioned before another great organization whose goal is to recycle, re-purpose, or whatever you do with stuff to keep it out of landfills.  Becky at “Organization Made Fun” has mentioned them too.  It’s a national organization and you choose which one(s) you want to be in touch with.  You’d be amazed what people give away.   I’ve copied their information:

The Freecycle Network

Find a group near you

Welcome! The Freecycle Network™ is made up of 5,013 groups with 8,894,986 members around the world. It’s a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (and getting) stuff for free in their own towns. It’s all about reuse and keeping good stuff out of landfills. Each local group is moderated by local volunteers (them’s good people). Membership is free. To sign up, find your community by entering it into the search box above or by clicking on ‘Browse Groups’ above the search box. Have fun!

 I’d really like to hear what you do with cleaning up and clearing out.  Care to share?  Pretty please?  I love to hear from you.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution: Get rid of what we don’t need

  1. Oh wow, I LOVE to get rid of stuff/clutter. I read Don Aslett’s books about 5 years ago, and I’ve been decluttering ever since. Not that my place was packed or anything like that, but I began to get rid of ‘decorative items’, and it just went on from there. His books are so inspiring. I’ve always been organized, so any clutter sure looked neat, but now, I think about every week is there anything I have that can go? Of course, I would love to dive into husband’s clutter- actually, he’s realized a lot of his stuff needs to go too. (how long does a person need to keep papers from college that are 40 years old??–I mean, anything you want to know (or not know!) is on the Internet!) Okay, now I’m inspired–going to see what else I can get rid of.

  2. You go girl – let it go!! I donated so much to the thrift shop and took stuff to our dump which has a section where you can put stuff for people to take for free! Let it go to a place where someone really needs or wants it.
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

