Owls and other projects

 

Owls. knitted into sweater at neck  I hope the “Press This” worked for me and the sweater and its knitter will open when clicked. If not, you are missing a beautiful sweater and I’m missing a chance to appreciate said sweater and she who knitted it as I have no memory and cannot find it after hunting for at least 30 minutes.  I’ve seen owl everything, as I’m sure you have and I think they’re really cute but this was special.  I have patterns for sewing owls and planned to start on them, when I tired of them, go on to key cases, cell phone cases, etc., get tired of them, go to slipcovers or pillows or window treatments.  You get the drift I’m sure.  But those plans have been at least short-term derailed.  Bobbin thread got all tangled and in trying to untangle, the in-nerds under the feed dogs just fell out.  I got a manual online as mine’s been gone for years, but it’s wrong.  Right model number, totally wrong diagrams, etc.  In our yellow pages there is one business that repairs sewing machines.  I don’t understand.  Quilting is booming.  Embroidery machine sewing is booming.  See a lot of sergers.  What happens when one breaks, or just has something minor like mine hopefully is, go wrong?  The local JoAnn’s used to have someone to work on machines; no more.

If you’ve read here before you know I have LOTS of plans to work on, just I was really counting on getting some of these sewing projects done first priority.  My daughter’s fibromyalgia isn’t real happy I’m sure after going from unemployed to full-time in food service providing for cafeteria and coffee shop services at a large insurance company campus so I wanted to complete her set of different size, shape, application rice bags for microwave or freezer.  Wanted to do a set for hubs too.  First on my list of backed-up projects.  Now they have to wait. I thought of hand sewing the rice bags, but rice is pretty small and my stitches would have to be consistently tiny.  Don’t think I could succeed.  Yes, I would like cheese with that whine.  It’s such a good feeling after being pretty debilitated for a long time to be able to be constructive and help those I love feel better.  Has to wait.  I actually almost went to WalMart, about 4 miles away, and bought a machine while hubs was out, so badly did I want to get these done.  So bad is the pain in his neck and her body.  But I controlled myself.  Credit cards and close stores are a bad combination of temptations to resist for this woman.

I wonder if the shortage of repair for small appliances (it’s not just sewing machines, that’s just what I need now) is a CT localized or regional thing?  Or is it nationwide; have we becaome a society of replacers rather than repairers or recyclers we strive/claim to be?  My kids are out of school, but do high schools still have wood and metal shops and car repair in their curriculums?  Please answer if you can, I’d really like to know.  Unemployment as it is, that would surely be an industry to hold onto.

What are you up to?  How do you handle it when your plans are thwarted?  Are you as big an “I want it now!” girl as I am.  Oh, I know I have to submit–to my husband, to the Lord, and I do, but I don’t like it.  Ironically, the read the Bible in a year plan I chose this year had me reading in Job yesterday.  Now there’s a guy with reasons to complain.

As always, please write to me, I’d love to get to know you who take the time to read my ramblings.  I do read anything I get.

Love,

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Owls and other projects

  1. Hi Janet, I’m with you on the repair thing–maybe it’s becoming a lost art?? Well, with all of our cheap, throw away stuff, cheaper to pitch and replace than to repair! Sad! As for sewing machines, I had an Elna Air Electronic–a good 30 some years old–I did find a man to repair it, but it just never seemed to work properly. After fighting it for 10 more years, I ended up giving it to Good Will and bought a $100 machine from Walmart. Not fancy, but it sews a straight stitch and that is all I need–and it works. I want to make those rice bags–the fabric won’t catch on fire in a microwave? Suggested nuking time? How much rice to add to a bag? How do I handle things when my plans are thwarted? Hmmm… guess it depends on the plan, but surely dissappointment, maybe frustration, but ultimately, I think, “Well, maybe it just isn’t God’s timing for this.” Waiting ensues!

    • We bought some “bed buddies” years ago and have used them for aches and pains. They’re like tube socks with rice in them. When I make these for a particular person, I fill partway, pin closed, have recipient try it for comfort, go from there. Time to nuke depends on size. Thanks for pointing out these omissions, I was thinking of doing a quick post with the pattern I used pictured to give credit where do. I’ll add what I just wrote to you.
      Janet

Leave a Reply

