I’m a happy woman tonight

English: A Walgreens pharmacy in San Jose.

Image via Wikipedia

Maxilar bone with left sided sinusitis (left m...

Image via Wikipedia

Well, it hasn’t been quite as long between posts this time and this is a happy post.  I went to the doc’s office yesterday, saw a very nice, apparently knowledgeable new APRN.  I have, as I suspected, a sinus infection.  I even had a fever which is a first when sufficiently hydrated in decades.  She gave me FREE antibiotics (Avelox), I love that.  Especially when insurance won’t give out formularies.  And this is a fairly new powerhouse of a med so it’ll surely knock out anything I’ve got.  I feel better already.  YAY!!!

On the way home, hubs and I (he worries so about me, my asthma is so unpredictable) went to Walgreens to get some non-rx stuff on sale with coupons. All good. (Sally Hansen wax kits were 50% off at my store [06096] and I had a $2.00 off coupon) I decided I would walk with the shopping cart instead of using the power wheeelchair in a store that size.  We got toothpaste in one corner and cereal in the opposite one with stuff in-between.  I was fine!!! I know to most that’s an everyday thing, but for me, it’s been a rarity for years.  My back and hip arthritis/bursitis were ok, breathing fine, gold star day!!!  And I got a good night’s sleep, too.  🙂

I did something incredibly dumb last month with my sewing machine.  If velcro has glue on the back and doesn’t state use on fabric–DON’T.  I bent 4 needles, jammed the machine, etc.  So aggravated, but didn’t figure out it was due to the velcro till I took the bobbin area apart today.  Took me this long to get up the gumption.  There was glue the needles were hitting and binding on, bending the tips.  I’m amazed I didn’t break the tips off in pulling them out with pliers, etc.  Once I scrubbed off the residue with alcohol I didn’t think I’d be able to put it back together; I couldn’t a few months ago and I didn’t see how the owner of the sewing machine store did it.  I knew he used no tools.  It didn’t even take me as long to get it back together and working as it did to clean it! LOL  I’m so excited to get back at sewing again. Not to mention feeling pretty darn good about the repair.   I put sew-in velcro on a piece (duplicate gift of the one I messed up with) and it felt soooo good to be productive again.  Now I’ll even be brave enough to try threading the old Singer. .English: Sewing machine

 

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in crafts, health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m a happy woman tonight

  1. I am soooo glad for you! I prayed that you would be feeling better and look at you, gadding about town, sewing, whomping up on that old sinus infection. Praise God for all the wonderful things that are happening to you! I know how encouraging it is when we feel well and can get some chores crossed off the To Do list.

    I’ve gummed up my sewing machine needle before with Velcro, I’ll never sew that stuff on anything again!

    Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

