Well, it’s been a week between posts again.  The more I say I need discipline in my day the less I have it.  I’ve been physically disabled for 7 years.  That pretty much broke my day up into pieces between lying down.  Between the muscular-skeletal problems that caused a lot of pain followed up by increasing difficulty breathing for still unkown reasons (I have asthma with a mind of its own), that was my day.  I’ve improved a good deal since then, [Thank you, Lord], but I haven’t gotten my act together. And I have to admit a great deal of envy towards all of you healthy folk who can do in a day what takes me a month still.  I do things and forget to take pictures and posts without pictures are not nearly as nice.  Today and over the last couple of days, I’ve thought of things to photograph and remembered to load them into the computer!  No small feat for Mrs. Forgetful Jones–you Sesame Street watchers know what I’m talking about or at least you do if it was the late 80s and 90s you watched.  Don’t know if he’s still on.  Anyway……

I decided we needed some spring, so into a thrifted Ladies’ Home Journal tin (the lid has an old-time photo of a woman in a hat) I stuck a couple bunches of JoAnn’s 1/2 price pansies.  To the right are a glass plate and bowl that I plan to join with a candlestick or something, haven’t decided what yet, but they’re from a thrift store that the not-for-profit organization that provides my son’s social & life skills mentor runs.  On the opposite end is a first aid kit hubs found in the garage of his deceased aunt when he and his cousins were clearing it out for the new owners to be ready to move in soon.  Guess they were good drivers, it’s full of original contents!

This hot pink fleece-covered pillow is a bed for my daughter’s fat cat.  If I weren’t so allergic to her I’d go down in the deep, dark, scary basement and take a picture.  She is really a FAT cat, lol.  Finished it now that it’s warming up, but I do what I can when I can.  If you look really closely you might be able to see there’s a flap for her to crawl under and really snuggle in when it’s cold.  Hopefully, she’ll go home soon.  Sinus infection #2 in as many weeks tells me it might be caused by allergy to the cat, air circulation from the basement, little as that is, could be responsible.  Where my daughter lives, there was serious water problems in the basement, so fat cat had to be outta there, as did everything else, so the contractors could dig a drainage ditch on the interior perimeter of the cellar, lay drainage pipe, put in a new sump pump, cover with fresh cement and get it dry.  All that concrete dust gave my daughter some asthma difficulty, too.

Last, but certainly not least, these thrifted/tag sale/side of the road scores.  We didn’t spend more than $5 for the trunk and 2 suitcases.  And they are holding my fabric stash!  I’ve really got some work to do when I can get the room organized.  Being so forgetful, I  put things away and forget where away is, so I can’t find the pattern or whatever I’m looking for.  I think I’m going to have to have the room emptied by my strong son (what will that cost me?) and label where I put everything as I put it away this time, getting new storage boxes if it means running out every day to do so.  And I can’t forget to mention the book standing on the stack of luggage.  In honor of Dr. Seuss’ recent birthday, I proudly display a copy of “You’re Only Old Once.”  As you’d expect, it’s a delightfully humorous book full of what happens when we age, including doctor’s offices–of course–, hospitals, forgetfulness (how many times have I referred to that?), etc.  I first saw it, where else but in a doctor’s waiting room.  I wanted to stuff it in my knitting bag as a compensation for all the time I spent sitting there, but couldn’t of course.  I think hubs found that for me at Amazon.com.  Haven’t seen one anywhere else since.  Dr. Seuss lived in Springfield, MA, which is only 15-20 miles from me and a museum is there now commemorating this great author.  Gotta go sometime.

Wonder if I’ll be able to get my act together better this week?  We shall see.  Suggestions anyone?  Please let me hear from you!

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in crafts, health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Hi Janet, don’t feel guilty about what you cannot do. The pansies look nice. That is my favorite flower for the early spring. When they show up at the garden center in all of those fantastic colors, I just can’t resist. I’ve seen the stacked suitcases in magazines, cute idea, but I thought, “what if what you want is in the bottom suitcase??” Arrrgggh!! Add some fun hanging labels to the handles lisiting what’s in each one so you don’t lose your mind!

Leave a Reply

