Good, Good, Good, Good Day–Part Two

Continued from Friday

On a totally different topic, I did no job/school research today because I asked hubs to go to Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore (about 35 miles away) and he finally felt well enough to go.  Just from what so many of you have written about finding at your local ReStores, I knew he’d love it once he got there.  And he did.  It would have been so easy to spend so much more than we did, but we do still have to eat, pay the mortgage, these little things.  Self control was used.

ReStore Logo                                    Imparting Grace posted these shutters from ReStore, on Pinterest; mine are stained and pretty rough shape.

They had  a really big set of oak kitchen cabinets, too big a set for our kitchen really, but also others that he said we’d paint anyway so we’ll look with measurements in hand next time.  This man has never painted wood in his life.  The infinite power of DIY/decor blogs!!

We had a coal stove in a corner of our living room in the late 70s and in order to meet code, we had to have cement board, brick or stone facing walls, it had to be elevated from the floor by 4 inches with, again, cement board and brick or stone facing with pretty significant clearances all around.  It eats up a good chunk of floor.  The coal stove is long gone, but the triangular hearth remains.  Three large dog crates sit there now.  A few years ago, we saw a triangular mantle, etc. to house a gas fireplace but waited for it to go on clearance and missed it.  Hadn’t seen one since–until today!  And they marked it down. They also had gas fireplaces like we want, but that’s a long way from being needed, so another time.  Just some of many finds at Restore.  Hubs said we’ll have to come back in a few weeks.  Maybe next time will be at a Restore in western MA, probably 15 miles away.    We avoid that area in MA, confusing street layout, poor signage, etc., and for a Restore he says he’d go there.

To make it even better, there was a consignment shop a few storefronts away in the plaza. In ReStore I used my wheelchair; I knew we’d be there quite a while, but I loaded it in the van after that and walked to and through the consignment shop.  That may well have been the longest time I’d been on my feet in ages.  Hours later and I’m still good!  Woohoo!!  Of course we found more treasures there.  We were both tired by this time and went out for a late lunch.

I have pictures in my camera, but the connecting cord to the computer is MIA.  Hopefully soon it’ll be found.  Like my wallet–I went to get it out at church–another really good thing, I not only went to church, I walked in!  Anyway, I couldn’t find my wallet at the end of the service.  I came home, hubs checked the car, I checked where I remembered it had been last here, nope.  So I called church and the youth pastor answered and looked for it, unsuccessfully.  But hubs, love this guy, took sonny bowling and went by the church, which was open for some kind of event.  He went in and found my wallet in the chair I sat in; it was between the cushion and the side of the chair. And we thought we had the only recliners that eat objects dropped in them. Relief!

Have stories of great finds to share?  I’d love to hear from you!!

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in faith, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

