Our weekend

Last week was like June here, temperatures in the 70s to 80s; very un-March-like for CT.  Saturday it was starting to cool off, low 70s instead of the 84 we had Thursday, but still not coat weather.  Hubs and I hit a couple of yard sales, picked up a few things, though no huge deals.  I would have liked to pick up a dresser that needed work, tagged $7; I thought it would be worth offering $5 at 2:30 in the afternoon.  Hubs was the voice of reason (that used to be my role)  What would we do with it till we get it fixed-up?  We can’t do these things as quickly as we used to.  And he was right.  We have a metal file cabinet that has seen better days and got a much nicer one, new looking, in fact, for $2!   And there were other items drastically cheaper than retail so it wasn’t a waste of time by any means.

Our son is among a group of young people from our church taking part in missions projects this summer.

To help cover the costs there was a pasta dinner & dessert auction Saturday.  We enjoyed the dinner and fellowship but our arthritic backs protested being on metal folding chairs and we had to go before the auction.  Sonny bid on and won a pan of Oreo cupcakes, though, and we chipped in for those.  These events have been happening every year for the time we’ve had a youth pastor, probably about 10 years, so a lot has been learned about  what to do during the dinner and the auction times.  There was a concession stand set up for goodies priced at $1 or $2 for those who couldn’t afford the auction bidding; gets pretty pricey.  Since we couldn’t stay, I bought a bouquet of “cake pops”.  Whoever did these was definitely a fan of it’s-a-cinch dessert making.  It can’t get much easier than buying DD Munchkins, putting some icing & sprinkles on them, inserting a pop stem, bagging them and arranging them in a summer beach pail with floral foam in the bottom!  Wish I’d thought of that.  Next time.

Today we are definitely in March, for the first time this month.  50 degrees now and windy with the temperature dropping.  A hard freeze is expected tonight.  It’s so beautiful now with all the flowers that normally bloom through May on display, I hate to think what the weather change will do to them.  Not thrilled with what the change of atmospheric pressure has done to my asthma.   The pollen level had to be high Saturday when I was outside for those tag sales, too, another enemy of my respiratory system.  Between the two I spent Saturday night coughing, yesterday back on the oxygen I’d been free from for several months and still coughing.

In the past an event like this necessitated a big boost in my prednisone dose but I had a feeling I should hold off this time.  That feeling was from God, telling me it would be better soon without the meds and today my oxygen levels are normal.  WOOHOO!  There will be no furniture sanding or painting today, but also no oxygen.  Until you’ve spent a day with 50′ of tubing following you throughout the house so you can be mobile and still breathe with relative comfort you can’t know how good it is to not need it.

Unfortunately it happened on Sunday so I missed the regular worship service and the ordination of our youth pastor into our denomination (now he could pastor a church solo, but hopefully he’ll stay with us a long time) and the party following in the afternoon.  I really wanted to be there; in addition to his being a big influence in sonny’s life and a good friend to him, I volunteered under his direction for years before my body refused to cooperate any longer.  He’s played a big part in our family’s lives in the years he’s been here.

When I visited her in the nursing home last, I asked my mom if she’d like a scrapbook and what eras of pictures she’d prefer.

Alexandria Manor

I expected her to request times gone by, but she said anything, anytime, up through now.  So that’s a nice, sedentary, productive activity I can work on till my breathing is back to normal.  And I am quite behind on all my intended projects (please tell me I’m not the only one with issues getting started on something new),  including sewing.  So plenty to keep me occupied, assuming I can get myself in gear and get started.

What are you doing these days?  I’d love to hear from you.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in crafts, faith, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our weekend

  1. Hi Janet, we know a freeze will also do in our newly sprouted bushes at some point. This is much too early for spring in our part of the country. In the past, I’ve actually placed bags, blankets, etc over blooming things, but that got old. Now, they’ll have to live or die!

    Glad to hear your breathing is improving. You are really getting a lot done. I noticed a few yard sales last week but I told myself I couldnt stop!

Leave a Reply

