First post-hospital check-up

Keeping it real here, so if you’re not interested in medical stuff, you might want to skip this. Suffice it to say, my spring break was greatly different from those I’ve been reading of in my favorite blogs to follow.  As I expected, the pulmonologist was happy with my breathing today.  As long as I’m sedentary I’m fine.  A home oxygen concentrator unit

and portable tanks have been my friends/enemies for the last several years. As I hadn’t had to use them for months, I had talked to another partner in the group about getting rid of them.  Costs me $25/month to have here and when not using them, it just seemed wasteful and an unpleasant reminder of how I’d been recently.  But I’m glad I have it; we forgot to arrange the test necessary to discontinue it.  In order to shower or even walk in my 1960s average size ranch I need it. Sometimes I start to fall with no warning so my walker, my oxygen tubing, my dogs and I fight for space in the hall.  But it is all necessary now, as is my power wheelchair when I need to go anywhere (like the doctor).

And my dear hubs to chauffeur me.  The antibiotics successfully killed the infection while in the hospital; the steroids knock out the inflammation of the airways but result in steroid myopathy which will require physical therapy.  Only when the long muscles, those most damaged by this process, have been strengthened by time, rest, proper exercise will I be able to resume driving.  Poor hubs, driving is hard for him.  Fortunately I have at least one other I can schedule driving with weekdays.

Many people know reasonably good health all of their lives and lose it when they age.  I’m not that old, but have been chronically ill all of my life, so says my mother of time before I remember.  A wise-guy allergist I saw in my teens said that I’m allergic to all things airborne so I should ask the manufacturer of space suits for NASA which was practically in my back yard, for a suit so I could get around, go to school more than not, etc.  I didn’t see the humor.  But now I am grateful for those years of being used to less than great health.  It’s far easier on  me to make adjustments in my life than for many others I see, it’s given me a greater appreciation for wellness when I enjoy it, and it’s certainly given me a greater empathy for others.  Just like it says in Romans 8:28.  I’m so very grateful to God for choosing to make Himself so very real and personal to me, for putting me in this church family, a true example of what the body of Christ should be.

We got out last scheduled meal delivered by some of the loving women of our church tonight.  They have all been more than generous in their portions, we’ll eat all next week off these meals at least. The fridge and freezer are quite full.  And thanks to the help of a men’s ministry, our first window is ready to accept an air conditioner, vital to my breathing now if the predicted weather

Window air conditioner, from left side

Window air conditioner, from left side (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

comes by Monday.  This is CT; tonight in some towns the predicted low is 31 degrees.  Monday the predicted high is 87 and threatening to break the existing record for that date of 90 degrees.  No wonder the poor crops are confused!

Obviously, any projects I undertake now will be very easy and not involving items with strong smells.  I’ve promised my mother, who is in a nursing home, I’d work on a scrapbook for her.  That’s pretty safe.  A project for myself; I’ve been collecting quotes from a daily delivery of BibleGateway.com.  They will become a collage of photos they choose to send with Bible quotes; (they print, just don’t copy here for some reason) I’ve saved many, many favorites.

Romans 8:28 We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

They’re just waiting to be cut out and mounted.  I’ll be very uplifted to look around me an\

\\see them, changeable at my desire, so whatever need I feel, I’ll be covered.  And there are some small sewing projects, like cell phone cases, I owe people.  But even for these, it’ll be a slow process interspersed with healing naps.

What are you up to?  I’d love to hear, honestly, I would.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in faith, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First post-hospital check-up

  1. joy2journey says:

    I wanted to see your blog and thank you for the sweet comment you let on mine. I had no idea. But Praise God you know the Best Healer! As I sign off here please know that I will be in prayer for you and your husband. Hugs,
    Bj

Leave a Reply

