Where Do You Dwell?

Grape Hyacinth Flower Bed
photo sourceHe who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress;
My God, in Him I will trust.” Psalm 91:1-2
It’s so easy in our stressful world of lay-offs, companies closing and locking their doors, unemployment benefits running out before a job is found to dwell in despair.  No job, no income, no insurance, people who have taken care of themselves and their families are having to turn to public assistance.
Have you hear of Joni Ericson Tada?  She is a woman, married, leading a worldwide ministry to the disabled. A happy, robust teen, she had a diving accident which left her a quadraplegic.  That would have moved many, if not most, people to move into the land of despair.  And I have to be honest, I don’t remember all of her biography, she may have temporarily, but temporarily is the most that she even possibly caved.  I just heard her speak on YouTube.  She has been a quadriplegic in chronic pain  for 44 years who just endured surgery and chemotherapy for breast cancer.  Has she moved into despair?  NO  She admits she had her moments, but something or someone always came through and pulled her into the secret place of the Most High.  I don’t know how to link the You Tube, but the title is “Joni Ericson Tada speaks at Moody Founder’s Week”.
Her ministry is Joni and Friends and one of the things they do is deliver wheelchairs to people all the world over who are in need.  In this particular video, during the time she was laid up with cancer, receiving chemotherapy and suffering its side effects, members of her team delivered a wheelchair to a 52 year old woman in Romania who since the age of 22 had been shut in a back bedroom of the cinderblock house where she lived with her mother.  Due to medical problems that had robbed her of her ability to move her feet, her legs, eventually her arms, she had been in that same bed, that same room, for 30 years.  When they got her into the wheelchair and outdoors, she tearfully thanked God for letting her see the sky.
That’s the way I want to respond to the challenges in my life.  I don’t always, by any means.  But I’d sure like to.  I have clinical depression as one of my challenges and I’ve been pretty far down in that dark pit.  So far down I was hospitalized.  But my church family never let a day go by that I didn’t have multiple visits, and the hospital was about 20 miles from their homes, out in the country so it wasn’t a hop on the interstate drive to get there.  And when I was just in the hospital last month because of asthma and a bronchitis infection, a visitor from church came to see me and ended up at my home helping my husband with a project in the house that needed to be done and more than one person to accomplish it.  When I came home, the ladies of the church stepped up and delivered hot meals to us every evening for 5 days, generously portioned so we ate for 2 weeks out of those gifts of love. And it happened that the last day we’d have had leftovers, a church leader called, offering a large pan of ziti.  We were so grateful. That is living in the secret place of the Most High.  And it sure beats the heck out of the pit of despair and depression.
Where do you find yourself spending most of your time?  Please write to me, I’d love to hear from you.
Janet
About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

