Maybe Some Painting Soon??

A "Tropical Breeze Delux"[sic] ceili...

A “Tropical Breeze Delux”[sic] ceiling fan, made by Moss. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hubs and I went to Home Depot today.  We got deep nap rollers to paint our popcorn ceilings we hate, but what’s left up there isn’t half of what went up and I can’t breathe well enough to tolerate having it scraped.  At least it’ll be clean popcorn, lol.  That is if the girl I asked about painting (I just saw her mom who told me she might have a job soon, but that’s a whole other story) didn’t get the job she got applied for.  Then the walls can be done, they’ll be easy compared to a 16′ high peaked cathedral ceiling complete with a ceiling fan on the beam.  Things you don’t think of when you’re 22 and looking to buy a house quickly to get out of the condo you love and hubs hates and the buyers gave you 30 days to be gone. <sigh>  And we love moving so much we’re still here almost 35 years later.

We also got canvas drop cloths.  Probably the last ones on the planet to do so.  For now they will just cover the front windows to keep the dogs from seeing and very loudly barking at every little–and I do mean little–thing.  We’ll use plastic drop cloths when the painting happens.  Then I have some plans for the canvas.

Last, but not least, we got some OOPS paint and some plaster of paris and I’m going to try a home recipe for knock-off ASCP.  Got some Freecycle, tag sale and thrift shop items to try it out on.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

To all you moms–HAPPY MOTHERS’ DAY!!!

I’d love to hear what you did for Mother’s Day.  I got a hydrangea from sonny, a bigger one from hubs and we’re going to Ruby Tuesday with hubs’ Mom for lunch.  At 96 she doesn’t want to go out by dinner time.  God bless her.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in crafts, painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe Some Painting Soon??

  1. 16 foot ceiling – I feel your pain!

    Can’t wait to see your homemade ASCP recipe – and all the cool free stuff you are going to make fabulous!

    Glad to be a follower!
    Kelly

    • Thanks Kelly, glad you are a follower, too. I knew you’d understand about the ceilling~lol. I’m going to try to mix plaster of paris and water, we’ll see…..Maybe by the time you can come to Brimfield, I’ll be able to go. That would be a hoot. One crazy woman in a power w/c and one on foot~ Janet

Leave a Reply

