Generous Tag Salers

Goodwill Industries

Goodwill Industries (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I lost track of the day…again….and so didn’t get pics of my tag sale, estate sale, Goodwill finds, but I’ve got to tell you about a few things.  First, I’d never been in a Goodwill Store till last week.  Hubs went all the time to the only one he knew wouldn’t trigger my asthma, alone, when he went to an appointment, but we had to bring sonny out that way and pick him up 2 hours later so we spent at GW.

Sonny, in the meantime, in 88 degree, humid heat went on a walk through a gorgeous park with a social group for young adults with autism.  I don’t think there are any readers from CT, so probably no one will know Wickham Park, but they have a small animal sanctuary I’ll call it. He saw ducks, geese, peacocks (with tails spread) .  I’m jealous, they never fan their tails when I see any.

Also went to a tag sale quite close to our house, the generous tag salers.  I’m a plus size girl and any of my sisters who are, too, know those items come with hefty price tags.  I got a cute around home sleeveless top with Pooh and balloons for $1, asked about a blouse and she asked me if I’d be interested in any in the bag near me.  By this time my back was so painful I didn’t know if I’d make it to the car, and said I had to get sitting, she gave them to me.  The whole bag for nothing; she just had too much and wanted it gone.  I had told hubs, he went up first and I stayed in the car, to look for a few things for me, among them lace.  I l.o.v.e. lace.  I picked up a couple pieces and said I couldn’t do it, she gave me a big bag of curtains, tablecloths, etc. for $2. Hubs made out, too.  We’re still hurting, he has back issues, too, he just lasts a little longer, but I’d say it was worth it.  We’d been to another Home Depot recently where we got OOPS paint, plaster of paris to make a version of chalk paint and try it out. He’s never put paint to wood that wasn’t particle board.  Big step. But, even though I used my power wheelchair in there,  the driving contributed to the new level of pain I have since my hospital stay in April.  The mega-steroid doses for asthma I had caused myopathy and one doc said it would be at least 6 months for the muscles to regenerate. UGH.

We’re going to try an experiment for the blog tomorrow.  If it fails, I want to wish everyone a Happy Memorial Day, enjoy the parades, salute the troops THANK THEM, remember it’s not just a fun day of picnics and an extra day off work.

How are you spending your holiday?  I’d love to know, really.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Generous Tag Salers

  1. Ginger says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I love hearing about your day, tag sales are so much fun.
    Have a great Memorial Day. Ginger

  2. That peacock pic is awesome. And I CANNOT believe you hadn’t been to a goodwill before. Crazytalk! 🙂

  3. You’re correct, not just a fun day of picnics and a day off. We owe so much to those who have gone in our place, served in our place, did the “dirty work”. There have been some tough men and women over the centuries who were very brave.

    Congrats on your freebies and good finds. Since I’ve moved, I’ve taken more things to the thrift store, and of course, I look at what’s there. So far, I haven’t brought anything back home.

    I know it’s tough to have to live with your health issues–I’m proud of you that you don’t just give up, I’m sure it is a daily challenge in so many ways, even ways that we don’t think of. Have a great Memorial Day. We’re having some family over and grilling. I’ve got sun tea outside right now, cooking away!
    Blessings to you,
    Joy

Leave a Reply

