Environmental Challenge–week of June 10-16

English: The carbon footprint as it is underst...

English: The carbon footprint as it is understood by people. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A fellow wordpress blogger–400 Days Til 40–issued a challenge to track our carbon footprint next week.  I think it could be very interesting, not just to readers, but to ourselves to learn how much more we could do to reduce waste.  A woman from Sweden wrote what they do.  We’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

The Salvation Army logo (Anglophone Version)

The Salvation Army logo (Anglophone Version) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Along the lines of recycling, I mentioned I just recently went to my first Goodwill store.  For some reason, Salvation Army stores are more plentiful in this area, Goodwills don’t do as well.  And the reason I don’t go into many of them is they’re too musty (not saying much) for my asthma to tolerate.  I have gone into used/consignment stores and cleaner thrift stores.  You know the saying, one man’s trash…… We recently went to a Habitat for Humanity ReStore and left with others’ donations to this very worthy cause at a fraction of what they would cost elsewhere–perfectly good condition–just the owners tired of them.

I’m all for saving $$ and for keeping things out of landfills. This is the stated purpose of Free-Cycle. If you haven’t heard of it, just google and I’m pretty sure you’ll find one in your area, at least in the U.S.  We don’t live in a metropolis and I could choose from several to become a member of.  Membership is free, you post what you have to offer, something you don’t want anymore, someone else replies, picks it up with okay from you, it stays out of the landfill.  I’ve gotten enough  ceramic tile to do a kitchen back-splash and lots more.  We’ve given a futon, table & chairs, etc.  Win-win.

How about you?  Are you a throw away or donate person?  Of course you can’t donate everything; some trash is just that.  When you spring clean, do you have a keep, donate, toss pile?

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in recycling vs.waste, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

