Environmental Challenge Week of June 10-16

My carbon footprint in 2008

My carbon footprint in 2008 (Photo credit: cubicgarden)

Fellow WordPress blogger 400 Days Till 40 issued a challenge, which I accepted, to track our family’s carbon footprint, how much trash we generate in a day, week, whatever.  I think we’ll all learn from this one.

Trash cans (prague)

Trash cans (prague) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you recycle paper, plastic, glass, cans. anything else? I’m guilty of not taking advantage of this opportunity, but our church does vacation Bible school every summer and they always need toilet paper rolls, paper towel rolls, any number of possible things we use all the time and just toss. There is a group that quilts scraps of fabrics and knits/crochets many items out of things you have no longer a use for.  Our town has gone to bi-weekly recycling pickups of all the above in huge cans we just put out next to our equally huge trash cans (which are emptied weekly).  We empty our trash today and all the stuff going to landfill each week fits in one 13 gallon trash bag.  If we get a pizza during the week, that also goes in, immediately, but basically that’s it.  They also pick up yard waste in brown paper bio-degradable bags, or in the case of small branches, etc., bundles tied with twine.  How about composting?  My husband made a compost corner in our yard, our vegetable peels, leftovers not worth keeping, doggie doo, grass clippings all go in there.

Who doesn’t know of someone who could use hand-me-down clothes?   Thrift shops are in operation for the benefit (primarily) of those who can’t afford retail.  Do you wear everything that fits you that hangs in your closet?  I don’t.  Big Brothers, Big Sisters and other charities make house calls here to take away your re-usables. How much easier can it get?  They send post cards and/or phone saying when they’ll be in your area and ask if you have a donation, if so where it will be.

So, how about you?  Let us know what you do weekly.

Janet

 

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Environmental Challenge Week of June 10-16

  1. 400daystil40 says:

    Wow, what a great post!!! I love that the quilters use the old clothing and items! I quilt (well, I used to quilt when I was not bogged down with work and children) and I LOVE taking old clothes and recycling them into quilts!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

