Environmental Challenge June 10-16 Re-usables, cleaners

Fellow WordPress blogger, 400 Days Till 40, issued a challenge, which I accepted, to determine how big a carbon footprint each family leaves on a daily, weekly, whatever basis.  I’ll bet we’ll be surprised by our own and each others’ replies.

Do you and/or your kids “brown bag” lunch?  How about a re-usable lunch bag, many now are even insulated.  If you don’t want to look for one retail, eBay, etsy, tag sales can all be good sources and I’ve seen some creative ways to  make them attractive in the crafty blogworld.  Water bottles?  Do we need “spring water”?  How about a re-usable safe plastic (no dangerous chemicals) or metal bottle?  How many of us buy single serve milk, juice, etc. containers that go in the trash?  Single serve applesause, tuna salad, Lunchables, etc?  There are so many suppliers of re-usable, unbreakable containers.  Yeah, it means you have to wash them.  But ya know, I’ve seen , though I confess to not having done this–yet, make your own detergents for dishes, laundry, floors, etc. that use baking soda and white vinegar.  That particular combination we have been using for a long time for windows, general cleaning.  Did you know white vinegar disinfects?  That use here sprang from my asthmatic sensitivity to so many cleaners.  It’s much less costly and much safer for the environmental.  We’re using old fashioned mops and are in process of switching to old towels, tee shirts, socks, etc. instead of paper towels.  How used to convenience we’ve become!  Yes, you then have to wash those rags, but is that more expensive?  We have high efficiency washer and dryer, so I don’t think so. Does anyone still use a clothes line? We wash towels we clean the pollen off of my hypo-allergenic (for me anyway) poodles so we just toss rags in with those.

As you can see, the lunch tote (my son’s), Tupperware (did I ever mention I sold this when my kids were little?) flatware, tot-able dishes and stainless steel water bottle are on my kitchen counter.  I’ve got to learn to do pictures better.  What about your family?  Do you bring food from home or buy at work/school?  How much disposables?  We have bread bags from the store, packaging from peanut butter jars to deli wrappings and produce bags.  How can your economize/eulogize? I think I just made up a word, but you get my drift. I’d love to know.

Janet

 

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in recycling vs.waste, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Environmental Challenge June 10-16 Re-usables, cleaners

  1. 400daystil40 says:

    I am so impressed with your re-usables! you are doing a much better job than my family is when it comes to being eco-friendly!!!

Leave a Reply

