Ecology Continued–Travel

4th of July Parade, N.Y., 1911 (LOC)

4th of July Parade, N.Y., 1911 (LOC) (Photo credit: The Library of Congress)

Well, are you sick to death of this topic, or are you like me, and it’s really making you think?  I live in CT, one of the highest gas tax states in the country.  Today I paid $3.659 for Regular to fill my minivan.  Anyone want to venture a guess why, now, with summer quickly approaching (here kids are still in class), prices would be going down?  I’m not complaining at all of course, but it is odd timing.  Those who were supposed to be in the know about such things predicted $5/gallon by Memorial Day, which didn’t happen. now they’re saying for the 4th of July.  I hope they’re just as wrong for that time

How has the price of gas effected the way or amount you travel? Have you, or would you consider, moving to live closer to work as a result of the overall, environmental and dollars and cents, costs? Or what kind of car/truck you drive?  Or how much you use public transportation?  I’m just far enough into suburbia that there is no bus service here, so that’s not an option for my family.  Are you travelling this summer for a vacation?  Or has the economy taken that option from you?  Maybe you’re like many Americans discovering our own back yards, so to speak, and doing stay-cations.  National Parks are even offering free admissions several times a year.  Most will recognize the Grand Canyon pictured here.

Photo by Quang-Tuan Luong - © All Rights Reserved

The local news we watch most often had a reporter doing a story recently on the newest additions to the auto market, the all electric cars, the Chevy Cruze and the Nissan Leaf.  They don’t go far on a charge and I wonder how many places other than your own home

English: Three Nissan Leaf electric cars recha...

English: Three Nissan Leaf electric cars recharging, Anaheim Resort, Anaheim, CA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

are likely to welcome you plugging in your car and charging the batteries.  I wasn’t paying strict attention, they’re not even a possibility for us, but I think I heard something about a gas engine back-up, but not like there is on, say, a Prius, or one of the similar hybrids.  It’s interesting to see how that market is growing.  Are there four or five Prius models now?  That is an option I would like to pursue given the chance.

But so far, I haven’t heard of anyone making a hybrid that would accommodate a power wheelchair and its required hydraulic/mechanical/electrical ramp system, so a minivan it is for us.  Before we got ours, I researched the possibilities and while one ramp company adapted the Honda Element and the PT Cruiser I was dissuaded by the negative reports.  Everything I read said they were geared toward the young vets, for example, returning from war needing wheelchair accommodations but not wanting a minivan (read soccer mom) and by the time the accommodations were made it was basically a two-seater.    Not what a 50-something needs.  That left minivan or full-size and those big guys are really bad on gas or  diesel, depending on the model you choose.  Not to mention just being more expensive to purchase.

And of course, there are a lot of choices in between the electric and the truck size for the average consumer.  Depending on your line of work, you may need a heavy-duty truck or a full-size van.  For those who want luxury there are many to choose from in that class, too, but not very economy minded choices.  The gas mileage on, say, a Cadillac Escalade can’t be good.

English: 2005 Cadillac Escalade (front view) ا...

English: 2005 Cadillac Escalade (front view) العربية: هذه الصورة لسيارة كاديلاك اسكاليد 2005 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Where do you fall in the pleasure travel choice spectrum?  We are at one extreme; between my husband’s bad back that causes extreme pain with continued sitting (and we won’t even go to how he feels about air travel) and my own back and breathing issues, vacations are a thing of our past.  From what I read and see on television that isn’t true of most families.  Travel bureaus are sure knocking themselves out to get people to visit their areas.  Is it working?  Are you travelling to visit family or friends?  Or are you travelling strictly for pleasure?  If my health didn’t limit my possibilities, I would travel as much as my budget would allow so please don’t think I’m judging with this line of quesitons.  What are your summer plans?  I’d really love to know–I live vicariously through others’ travels           :-).

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ecology Continued–Travel

  1. Janet,
    Oh how I love to travel!! I’ve seen a lot of amazing places and can’t wait to see more! It seems the last few years, with our house renovation, we haven’t been traveling as much. We take drives to cities like Boston, Williamsburg, Philadelphia and we’re a quick trip into NYC. I’m going to be driving my girls to camp (12 hours!!) and plan to spend some time in Asheville NC.

    I actually looked into buying a hybrid last year when I bought a new car – but they didn’t have the color I wanted!! So I went with the regular version (hey, a girl’s gotta have the right color after all)! Plus the hybrid was about $5k more!!

    Here’s to living vicariously through others (I do it all the time)!
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

