Environmental Challenge Week–Day 7–emissions

I l.o.v.e. low odor anything, basically.  It elated me when car air conditioning came with a re-circulate feature.  That meant that when a big old diesel truck with two vertical stacks belching black smoke was ahead of me, I could stay on the road with him and breathe

Wikipedia picture

comfortably.  Or when there were lawnmowers going everywhere I could still breathe.  I love the smell of fresh cut grass so it’s not that it annoyed me, it literally sickened me though.  Asthma attack waiting to happen, and sometimes it wouldn’t happen till I tried to lie down at night.  Have you ever had to sleep sitting in a chair because you couldn’t lie down and breathe at the same time?  If not you can’t fully appreciate what I mean.  By nature, if I didn’t have all these awful allergies I don’t know that I would be so into “green”.  I am a girly-girl in many ways and if I hadn’t developed these air-borne allergies, I could be very into perfumes, acrylic nails, etc.

One of my sisters is worse than I am and I have a friend who actually put a sign on her door that if anyone wanted entrance, it meant no hairspray, cologne, fabric softener in what they were wearing and on and on.  A friend told me this week of someone who is more sensitive than all the allergic people I know combined.   It amazes me if this woman was like this from childhood that she reached adulthood.  Come to think of it, she couldn’t have been because my friend said this person hadn’t been out of her house in a year and it would have been much longer given the things she can’t tolerate now.  Think boy in the bubble.

I was over the moon when low voc paints were developed. Water based latex paints have always been my friends (don’t judge; we all have criteria for choice of friends).  But we had popcorn texture sprayed on our ceiling in the living room and kitchen (in the 70s when it was stylish ceiling treatment) after a contractor doing the roof fell through in two places necessitating ceiling repairs.  The previous owners were really good maintainers of the property–NOT!!!  Fortunately he wasn’t hurt when he fell, in the kitchen he landed on the

kilz: interior oil base

kilz: interior oil base (Photo credit: Fatty Tuna)

table, in the living room he was able to grab the peak of the roof to keep from falling all the way down.  I digress.  Anyway the popcorn meant we had to a) scrape it all off–not an option unless I was out of the house for days or b) oil based KILZ, also not an option because of the odor of any oil based paint.  But it got to the point that I insisted it be done and if I had to get a hotel room somewhere so be it.  Darn, it didn’t bother me but the new KILZ low odor lived up to its name and I was able to stay in the house.  I didn’t stay in the room being done, I retreated to the bedroom with air conditioning on and a/c was also on where the painting was done, but this is amazing stuff.

So ends the 7 days of writing of carbon footprints and environment.  Having the room air conditioners on as we have during the painting increased our electricity usage and hence our footprint for those days.  We usually don’t run that many at once.  Maybe when the furnace has to be replaced we’ll be able to go to central, who knows.  So I’ve had to examine our habits pretty closely this week and maybe some of you have too.  As I mentioned, I know life’s curve balls have shaped our carbon footprint and our life choices in general.  How did you do?  I’d really love to hear from you.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in health, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

