Pictures of Freebies!!

As I’ve been saying I’d do I finally got the camera loaded into the computer (gotta do better with cords!) First, I need to apologize for my lack of photo skills.  I use an auto shoot idiot proof camera whose designers never met me!  Also, I need to put a photo edit and label program in here that works!  As easy as everyone says PicMonkey is, I fear I’ll mess that up, too, then I’ll be totally discouraged.  I don’t want to buy Adobe Photoshop as much as I loved it back in the old days when it was free.  I put labels on each photo and “save” and no label comes through.  Edits don’t stay even though saved.  Pictures are in the garage throughout the post so forgive the clutter. It was cropped out but you’d never know.  I thought I’d start with what we got through FreeCycle or just tag sale leftovers on the curb.

Hubs was out one day and saw this on the side of the road!!!  It needs cleaning, the trays’ paper is peeling inside, nothing a bit of Mod Podge and fresh paper won’t fix.  It’s in as good condition as those I’ve seen for sale with pretty hefty price tags.  It is smaller than those we’ve seen in antique shops, so hard to price guess, but we wouldn’t have space for those bigger ones.  The way it’s made says it’s old.  LOVE!!

This cabinet is about 4 feet wide by 30 inches high by 2 feet deep.  Its nails were coming out so it was a trick to get into the van, but hubs replaced nails with screws  and it’s pretty solid now.  The Free Cycle donator said it was antique; looks it.  Lots of storage for hubs, hidden storage.  It has a place to put a padlock to make it safe to store paints, etc.

As you can see, these 2 chairs, one for a doll that needs repair and one for a person, are just outside the garage with my much-mentioned w/c van.  I saw the shadows and wanted to turn the chairs and shoot again, but my body said “unh-uh, unless you want to be horizontal on the pavement,” so I left well enough alone.  The person chair just needs cosmetic work.  I see experimenting with home made no VOC chalk paint on this. The little chair needs rung re-gluing and cosmetics.  The fabric and light padding need replacement and it, of course, needs paint.  It has really unique detailing I’ve never seen before but we’ll keep that a little mystery till it’s revealed in its new state.  Details will be protected; just one reason I want to chalk paint, no sanding required–the rungs are not just flat run-of-the-mill rungs.

While we got other things for next to nothing, we did pay for all our other goodies.  Another post.  What have you found lately?  And I’d love to link up to partays and show off but I’m totally embarassed to admit I cannot figure out how.  Directions WordPress gives for code are not for idiots (or ignorants) of my caliber.  Help?  anyone?

WordPress

WordPress (Photo credit: Adriano Gasparri)

I suspect most won’t be glued to their computers tomorrow so HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY!!  May the weather cooperate for cook-outs, picnics, swimming, whatever is in your plans.  It was so fitting that on the 6:00 news a sergeant returning from Afghanistan got a motorcade welcome home the news crew was able to capture and broadcast live.  Route lined with flag-waving, saluting, shouting crowds in this small town.   The link below will bring you the live report I describe.

http://www.wfsb.com/video?autoStart=true&topVideoCatNo=default&clipId=7464717

Rocky Neck State Park file photo WFSB TV

Community Party as only Martha Stewart can do it!

Whatever your day brings, I pray all remain safe!

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in painting, recycling vs.waste, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pictures of Freebies!!

  1. Hello Janet! 🙂 If I understand you right, you would like to join up on other’s linky party’s? send me an email, and I’ll walk you through it… I just don’t want to leave all the instructions here, and it turns out I misunderstood! I’d also like to invite you to be a part of a bloggers facebook group I belong to, I get tons of advice and wordpress knowledge from those girls. Just go to this link, apply to join, and you will receive an acceptance later: http://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/142442935881604/

    xo, Leanne

  2. Happy and safe Independence Day to you. Love your trunk! good find

  3. Hi Janet!! I just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the sunshine award! 🙂

    Leanne

    • I was so blown away by this I know I went to your blog, I don’t know if I said thank you. What a ditz! I’m honored and when I can link back to your blog, I will copy and paste the award,, etc. I got a reply from the facebook group, but if you can tell me specifically how to link back to you, I’d love to. Thanks again. How you feeling? Janet

  4. Bethany Lee says:

    I can’t believe you got so many items for free! You rock! 🙂

  5. Marcy says:

    I know of the fact that currently, more and more people are
    being attracted to cameras and the area of pictures.

    However, being photographer, you have to first shell out so much time period deciding which model of digital camera to buy along with
    moving store to store just so you may buy the most affordable camera of the
    trademark you have decided to choose. But it would not end at this time there.
    You also have to take into consideration whether you should obtain a
    digital digicam extended warranty. Thanks a bunch for the good tips I received from your blog
    site.

Leave a Reply

