Glad This Week’s About Over

For many people a doctor appointment Monday, one meeting Tuesday and one meeting Wednesday, getting 3 large dogs to the groomer this morning and nothing but a physical therapy appointment for hubs tomorrow afternoon would be a light week.  But let me elaborate.  The psychiatrist appointment 65 miles from home for our son with autism and me to handle anti-depression and anti-pain dual purpose meds for me and to handle meds and sharing of information between the doctor and the state agencies providing help for man-child in the work and social arenas; not typical doctor appointments.  Nor are we healthy people for whom driving that distance is no problem.  I wish I could still do that drive with no problem, but that’s just not so.

First Meeting

Meeting #1 was with the agency and vendor who provide sonny’s community mentoring and life skills coaching services.  There is a new case manager ( a couple months ) with the state agency that manages these services, who is now a BFF, she’s wonderful at getting things straightened out and working as they should be.  But it was a long meeting because many of the staff at the vendor company were new to us, there had been lack of structured role following that needed to be righted, misinformation that needed to be corrected and it was not one of our son’s best mornings, so he lost it, slamming hands on the table, yelling, swearing that had to be handled.   Once he was excused from the room to a specific Homedestination, the handling of such situations elsewhere needed to be discussed.  I can only try to imagine what it would be like to be a young man with, other than his mentor and his dad, a group of women in a conference room asking questions and talking about what may or may not be good paths, interventions, etc. for him.  Obviously, it wasn’t pleasant.

Wednesday

Wednesday (Photo credit: teachernz)

Meeting #2 was 45 minutes from home at 9:00 AM.  If anyone reading this has fibromyalgia or arthritis you know getting up early enough to shower, etc. to be ready to leave early enough isn’t easy.  Add getting a medicated (think he oopsed even those he has med dose box all ready for him) guy to take care of feeding, taking dogs out, etc. at that time, also not easy.  But we got there and gave him breaks at will (if only we’d thought of that the day before), this meeting we anticipated being longer and it was shorter, we got everything fixed so that went well.  We were outta there at 11:00, he wanted to go to Friendly’s for lunch, so we did.  He was happy, I was exhausted as was hubs, so I offered to take a turn driving and was nodding at the wheel so we had to change drivers part way home.

Friendly's

Friendly’s (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This morning was still early, but just getting the 3 standard poodles to the groomer, hubs and sonny did that without too much difficulty.  Sonny’s mentor was here for a time with him lawn mowing, cleaning his room.  Hubs had more errands, but for me an easy day.  Good thing, I was losing my balance again and not walking independently. When not home I have to use the power wheelchair. This has gotten quite old.  I got the pcp to order labs, I’ve got to find out why I’m so weak and wobbly.  The dogs are wiped after their day, too.  The 3rd one is in his bed already. 8:45 is early for him to be in bed, especially with a thunder storm happening.

Tomorrow we can sleep in, no alarm.  It still won’t be late, but no alarm.  That will be a big re-adjustment for sonny when he gets another job, depending on hours of course.  Hubs’ physical therapy isn’t till 4:00 PM so he’s thrilled.  Obviously, this isn’t hubs or his PT in this picture, but it’s what Wikipedia had to offer.  I don’t think he’d have appreciated me there with camera in hand, LOL.

Physical therapy activities at the 20th Genera...

One day I will post crafts (I have done some, I just forget to photograph, etc.), then I’ll hope to learn to link to parties.  I’m really not being anti-social, I’m just a really slow learner when it comes to the complexities (for me at least) of blogging.  I understand I’m not the only one having problems now with free WordPress.  I do read many blogs.

So how was your week?  I’d love to hear from y’all (I’m yank born & raised, just like to say y’all from time to time hehehe) Please check out this site this week: https://www.sevenly.org.  This week Autism Speaks is their charity of the week.  Thanks.

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glad This Week’s About Over

  1. Mom says:

    You deserve a weekend. Enjoy and relax if that is possible. God Bless…

Leave a Reply

