Met New Neighbors

Well, I met the female part of the family, mom and daughter. Oh, I can’t leave out I met their little black chihuahua, Lola.  Why did I write little, they don’t come any other way, LOL

why is she always scheming?

why is she always scheming? (Photo credit: hmmlargeart)

I had a cut glass dish that looks like a miniature ice bucket and 8 of my coasters fit perfectly in it.  It was all of 0.50 at a tag sale and really made the presentation nice.  Mom considers crochet an art and was quite impressed.  Her 8 year old said she likes to craft, especially making cards.  I have a lot of card making and scrapbooking materials so I said sometime if her mom wanted, A. could come and visit and make cards.  Friendly, quite overwhelmed and glad I came by.  I didn’t stay long, mold spores are high, I’m very allergic and they didn’t have air conditioning.  But it feels good to have done an old-fashioned welcome to the neighborhood.  Turns out they already lived in another part of town, so they’re not strangers, and dad grew up in this part of town.  I want them to know we’re a safe place for A. if she needs one.  Below is the actual gift, I finally got a pic in which they didn’t look awful.

What do you think of the practice of welcoming new neighbors?  I wrote a note with our names, dogs names and descriptions, including temperaments, phone number and an invitation to call or drop by in addition to inviting A. to come and craft sometime.  Mom seemed so surprised and overwhelmed.

I’d love to know what others do.  I heard from a few of you that the “Welcome Wagon” kind of concept has gone by the wayside.  I really think that’s too bad.  If we never meet our neighbors (I confess some moved in near us when I was less well than now and I haven’t met them) we all miss out.  This is basically an older neighborhood.  Unless there are kids on the street in back of the new neighbors across the street from us, there are no other 8 year olds in the area.  Don’t know if her grandparents still live nearby.  Thoughts?

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in crafts, health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Met New Neighbors

  1. We are terrible at meeting new neighbors! And we move a lot!!! I don’t know what is the right thing to do so we always end up doing nothing, but I think a small little gesture is always appreciated!

Leave a Reply

