Surprise

English: Logo for The Home Depot. Category:Bra...

English: Logo for The Home Depot. Category:Brands of the World (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hubs was out doing errands Friday and when he came home, man child announced that he had brought me flowers.  Now, he’s a sweetie and when he knows I’ve had a bad day or really don’t feel well or for any number of reasons he will, out of the blue, bring me a bouquet.  So that’s what I thought he’d done and I was grateful and trying to figure out what the reason might be as I finished what I was doing.  When he brings flowers he sticks them in water so I wasn’t in a huge rush.  Well, I got into the kitchen and there were 4 plants (in 2 pots) of orchids!  I read months ago on a blog that they’re really easy to grow, and then saw them in Home Depot and the care instructions agreed with what I’d read.   Excitedly I looked for a price sign and saw one plant the size Hubs brought me the other day was then $17!  And I refused to pay that when I’ve had a black thumb in recent years. It seemed as if I could keep orchids alive if they thrived on 3 ice cubes on top of moss from the craft store, which I already had, and high light but not direct sun.  But it wasn’t that important to me to get them then, I’m too cheap frugal to spend $17 on a plant I might kill. And so is Hubs.  But it must be near the time they’ll be expected to lose their blossoms or something because he paid –ready?– $20 for the 4 plants in 2 pots, the same as he would have paid for 2 plants if he weren’t such a frugal, careful shopper himself.  So, the advice I’ve gotten is the ice cubes weekly, keeping them pot-bound, and boy, they are pot-bound, not transplanting them until flowers are history and not transplanting them till they’ve been in their original medium for 2 years.  Now there’s no way I’ll be able to know that, but the rest, I can do.  Our living room faces south and we have 12′ wide windows so we get a decent amount of light.  They just don’t go in the window.  Anyone have personal experience?  When I read back in May how easy they are to care for, the blogger wrote to put multiples in their original plastic pots into cachepots.  On a Salvation Army trip, we found a blue and white cachepot, a favorite look of mine, that I bought in anticipation.  I think they’re stunning.  Thoughts?

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Surprise

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. To claim this award go to:
    http://justiceforraymond.wordpress.com/ and follow the directions…

    • Thank you! You have no idea how much this means to me; inspiring, encouraging would describe my goal in all areas of my life and my blog has been so intermittent and I thought uninspiritng, this is certainly unexpected. I’ll post to my blog when I can get thoughts together to answer the questions, etc. I fully understand why you were given the award! Janet

  2. Ray's Mom says:

    I have had a fair amount of success with orchids – getting to bloom again…however I had not heard of the moss and ice cubes. I will try that with the one my daughter gave me for Mother’s Day a couple of years ago that is not too happy right now.. Better die trying….

    • Hope it works for you! I got a reply from another blogger saying she never transplants her orchids; just surrounds them in their little original pots inside of a cachepot, much like mine, and soil. After the blooms fall she puts them in the bathroom for moisture and indirect light. Janet

  3. I love orchids!!! My husband used to grow them … we don’t have any down here. I will stare longingly at yours. 🙂

  4. Shannon Fox says:

    What a sweetheart. Great deal too! I never have the patience… once they lose the flowers.. I give the plant to my MIL 🙂 Good luck with them!!

  5. I love orchids and have had one plant for many years now. I have others that have died or just loose the main stem and sit with leaves for a long time. Over all I have done well with them. They are beauties!!

    • Thanks Shannon. A couple of my blooms are fading, as I expected. I mean the store didn’t mark these down because they were freshly flowering, I’m sure. I found someone I know cleans for a man in the orchid society who obviously, successfully raises them. I’ll bet he’d be happy to take questions.

Leave a Reply

