Randomness

Hi all!  You know how Home Depot guarantees plants for a year from purchase?  THEY DO IT!!  No questions asked.  If you’ve been with me for a while you may remember my orchids.  Well one of them completely bit the dust.  All that was left is a little stump in the middle of a pot of dirt .  so sad         English: Logo for The Home Depot. Category:Bra...

We went into Home Depot today with our receipt for 2 orchid plants and one very dead plant.  The other is ok, between flowerings (I tell myself I can get it to flower again).  And, low and behold, in December, they had orchids!  So, once again I have a plant in bloom.  Made my day. This one is the color of the one we got.  So pretty, especially compared to the dead stump we returned, hehehe.

English: Unknown orchidaceae (habit). Location...

English: Unknown orchidaceae (habit). Location: Maui, Home Depot Nursery Kahului (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We also bought a replacement range hood.  That made my day even more.  Now I know to most of you, that’s not a huge deal.  But I’ve had this ugly thing over the stove that hasn’t done anything except provide a light (the better to see the smoke) forever.  Now to get it put up.  And to have this nice a kitchen to put it into would be great!!

photo from NuTone website

In the same plaza as Home Depot there is a DollarTree store.  Now I ask you, what crafter doesn’t love that store?  Well, I’d seen a wreath on Blissful and Domestic I wanted to recreate so where else would I head?  See, hubs bought this glittery Merry Christmas sign to go on a wreath or in a window or something from the 50s he’s so thrilled with, but we never have a proper place for it.  Well, she showed her wreath with a 21st century version of that sign (from DollarTree) and he liked it, so off we went.  That makes 3 projects underway.  There’s really no reason I didn’t finish one when I started it except I was lazy.  The next one is going to take quite a bit of time.  Not difficult, just time consuming.  I’ll keep you guessing until they’re finished.  But at least they’re started, lol.

How about you?  Where do you stand in your preparations?  I’ve seen a lot of mantles, reminding me of the fireplace I lack (sniff, sniff), banners, wreaths, yummy looking recipes through out blogland.  Please, please tell me I’m not the only one who’s gotten like nothing done!!  Well, hubs is bringing up the nativity, always the first thing to go up, as I type, so once that is done, I won’t have an excuse will get started.  Love to hear from you!!

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in blogging, crafts, kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Randomness

  1. Hi Janet! Thanks for visiting today and leaving such a sweet comment! I worked very hard on that window & I’m very pleased with the way it looks, but it was nice to have someone who isn’t as vested give me some feedback! lol

    Love your range hood (I have the same one in black). It’s always nice to put those little touches in place, isn’t it?

    Have a wonderful week xox

  2. bertibea says:

    I love dollar stores! Perfect for inspiring my creativity and thriftiness. Would love to see the wreath when it’s completed! Happy decorating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

