HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

What did you do on New Years Eve?  Did you watch the ball drop?  Did you go partying?  Did you host a party?  Or did you, like us, (and, much to our relief, our 29 year-old daughter and her boyfriend) stay in?  All of us, even the younger ones, crashed early.  I wanted to stay up and watch the Boston Pops Concert coordinated with fireworks (do they still do that?) but this old bod disagreed.  I could not stay awake. Neither could hubs.   I had my choice–go to bed or go to sleep in a chair in the living room, much less comfortably.  I chose my cozy bed.                                            Masthead_NYE2012

Today, New Years Day,  we made a great score from FreeCycle.  What, you’ve never heard of it?  It’s a national thing and all you have to do is go to FreeCycle.com, when the site comes up decide what town(s) fit your location best and sign up.  You have your choice of emails daily, digest, or website access.  The best part–it’s all FREE!!!  Selling anything is forbidden!  Better then tag sales, thrifts, etc. because you pay nothing, nada, zip!!  You go pick up the item usually, though I have had people willing to deliver.  I couldn’t believe this one. We got a brand new JeldWen door, 80″ x 30″.  Not your standard size, but perfect for my needs.  And the owner put it in the van!   It’s over-sized, adaptable to sliding, inexpensive, especially compared to sliding barn style doors.

Below is a sliding door Mandy of VintageRevivals.com did in an Epic Room Makeover.   You can see this and all of the room makeover in her 10-12-2012 post.  Somewhere she has the whole process explained, but I had to settle for this (because of my horrible memory) and it suits my needs of showing you where I got this idea.  The door is on galvanized pipe for electrical conduit, the connections all in the same aisle at Home Depot or Lowes and not at all costly.  So, I’ll have a sliding door wide enough for my walker or wheelchair (on my worst days) to get through without spending a mint.  Thank you Mandy for the great idea, and FreeCycle for the free door, and its former owner for giving it to us.  And he was only about a half mile away and really flexible as far as pick-up as long as I wan’t going to be a no-show.  That is strongly discouraged, if you’re not serious, don’t reply.  Our door will be a white 6-panel which will match the rest of the hallway doors, unless we decide a color to paint them :-).

Epic Room Makeover Giveaway Contest 2012 Vintage Revivals

Isn’t that just an awesome idea?  The width of the free door will be sufficient, as will the height, to accomadate her system.  What a way to start 2013, huh?

Happy, Happy Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in repurposing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

  1. Hi, I’m a night owl so I easily made it to the 12. I was drinking coffee with a friend while we were the only supervising parents at the local ice rink. Can’t comprehend how parents think it is safe to let their child be locked up for 4 hrs with 50 other teens and no supervision except for the 30ish male manager whom the teen girls adore. I pray this year is special for you and your family. I can sense your excitement about the door, I love a thankful heart and so dose He. I think I’m going to re-join Freecycle. Now my circumstancces have changed I need them. Thank you for the reminder. Blessings

Leave a Reply

