Six Steps

Wow, I haven’t posted in a long time!!  I read every day, just that’s as far as I got. 😦

Let's Do The Calendar! (KIT) product from Johnson-Creations on TeachersNotebook.com

I was just reading Mandi’s post (as in “Love Your Guts”, Mandi) a.k.a. Vintage Revivals.  She wrote about less than healthy habits that led her to make six post-holiday changes.  She asked for what her readers might be doing and I wrote, and wrote and Blogger kicked me out.  Or my computer went bonkers a.g.a.i.n..  This time I don’t think it was my computer.  My reply was more like a blog entry and I realized, DUH this should be a post.   Delayed light bulb moment.  I have elaborated on what I wrote there, by the way.   Anyway, one of the things she wrote about was how hard it was getting back into walking.  She is a writer who makes the mundane something you can easily picture in your mind and laugh.  So that was one of her non-resolutions.  Please go to her blog, the non-resolutions was obviously closer to the year’s beginning.

My 1) was an order given by one of my doctors: make an appointment with my walker (I  fall a lot lately-no one knows why) and walk ever-so-interesting -NOT- laps through my small house for 10 minutes every day.  I have weakened muscles from a different medical problem and this was his suggestion to help.  It happens I found a pic of one just like mine.

How to Get A Walker Or Rollator Through Medicare

source: Pinterest Physical Therapy Walkers

My 2)  Like most of us, (if this doesn’t apply to you, I strongly dislike you) didn’t always make the healthiest food choices over the holidays. How’s that for understatement?  So a  food related goal everyone agreed on, even me, is to continue the weight loss.  Not so easy when exercise consists of 10 minutes walking a day.  When you lose more than 20 pounds and no one notices, it’s definitely time to get more serious.

                                                                                                       Diet                                                                         

3)  The same walk-daily-doctor said in reply to a quandary no one has figured out (blood count dropping) to eat a steak a week.  Tough duty, he won back my respect.

Steak House Steaks ~ Barefoot Contessa

source: The Barefoot Contessa

4) I know every January everyone on the planet (who knows maybe other planets, too) vow to remove clutter from the house.  We actually started this momentousness effort months ago  One house + 3 disabled people,(2 of whom have lived there 36 years raising 2 kids there) = a heaping lot of clutter .  We put way more into Goodwill, good stuff we just don’t fit into or use anymore, than we take out.  You’re welcome.  Hubs has come to the conclusion that he doesn’t have to turn the purchase of one item into a collection.  I’m realizing that I can’t do, at least not do well, all the crafts that needed the stuff I hoarded stashed over the years.  Our daughter moved out 8 years ago, I don’t think we’ll ever learn the art of making jewelry together.  Scrapping parties I went to eons ago all produced beautiful combinations of printed scrapbook papers, embellishments, journal entries and, of course photos.  Mine–not so good.  All of my stash is sitting here waiting to be picked up.  You get my drift.  Of course having a ton, at least, of our daughter’s stuff still here doesn’t help.  Parents, can I get an AMEN?

                                                                         goodwill

                                                                       Profile picture of Goodwill Industries International  Goodwill Industries International fromtumblr

5)  Drink 6-8 glasses (8 ounce glasses, not 4 ounce juice glasses) of water a day.  YUK  That somehow makes me thirsty.  Coke. coffee, etc. are so much easier to drink 64 ounces of per day.  My solution is a little cheat–I drink seltzer water.  Yup, carbonated water with maybe a teaspoon of fruit flavor per quart bottle works for me.  When I’ve had 2 bottles I know I’ve done my duty.                                                                                 Vintage Mandarin Orange Seltzer Water                                                                                                  – Google Search

       buythecase.net

6)  Blog more!!  Most bloggers I’ve read recently that come to the subject of blogging say they are going to try to spend less time at the computer and more time with their families. My guys have their own interests; hubs does come out of his “lair” (let’s be real, you can’t call a room still painted pink–that disabled thing again) a man-cave to spend some time with me.  Our 27 year old with autism just wants to maintain his routine as much as possible.  So for me, blogging more instead of spending so much unproductive time on Facebook will be my final non-resolution.  You’re not free of me yet mwah-ha-ha-ha!

Till next time,

Janet

About craftythriftydecoratingwifemom

I thank God for all the wondrous gifts he's given me daily. Reading many of your blogs has inspired me to get busy and stay busy doing things I used to enjoy and just fell away from. And you've given me courage to try new things I've never done before, things I'd have been afraid to try a few months ago. Thank you for your unknown contributions to this woman's life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Steps

  1. Donna has great goals and so do you! My favorite one – eat more steak! I’m with you on that one!
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

